February 20th, 2021

Allison Cillis chosen to be the NDP candidate in Flamborough-Glanbrook

HAMILTON — New Democrats in Flamborough-Glanbrook have selected Hamilton high school teacher Allison Cillis to be their NDP candidate in the 2022 provincial election. An educator and advocate for equity and human rights, Cillis ran for the New Democrats federally in Flamborough-Glanbrook in the 2019 election.


NDP Leader Andrea Horwath
“Allison will make an amazing addition to our powerhouse team of New Democrat MPPs in Hamilton. In Allison, Flamborough-Glanbrook families will finally get the local champion they need at the legislature. When the NDP forms government in 2022, Hamiltonians can count on us to make it easier to build a good life right here in our beloved hometown, from setting the stage for good-paying jobs and delivering homes people can afford to ending hallway medicine and fixing seniors care.”

Allison Cillis, NDP candidate for Flamborough-Glanbrook
“I’m grateful to local New Democrats for giving me the nod to run as the NDP candidate for Flamborough-Glanbrook in Ontario’s 2022 election. As a secondary school teacher, I have witnessed the devastating impact of Doug Ford’s cuts to education first-hand. I’m worried that Ford’s going to go right back to slashing the public services Hamiltonians rely on as soon as the pandemic has passed, because he won’t even give people the help and hope they need in the middle of a crisis. Andrea Horwath’s New Democrats have put forward a positive vision for Ontario, and I can’t wait to become part of the NDP government that will deliver better health care, better education, and so much more in 2022.”


  • Cillis is a Hamilton teacher who has spent the last seven-and-a-half years working in local high schools as well as in Alternative Education programs
  • Cillis is fighting for investments in education, child care, health care and seniors care
  • Cillis currently serves as Chair of the OSSTF District 21 Human Rights Committee
  • Cillis is a Member of the Provincial OSSTF/FEESO Equity Advisory Workgroup